I time traveled! Hello 2007!

Hello everyone! I am now 15…………. Well, sort of……

Ethiopia is such an amazing country! They have AVOCADO trees, need I say more?! I’ve always wanted to have an avocado tree in my backyard (I even think I have a fb post about it from some years back) and now I have!! Oh, yeah, why am I 15 you ask? And what’s all this about time travel? Well, here in Ethiopia it is 2007. Which I was pretty excited about. I also had to do some googling to figure out how and why, but I will let you google Ethiopian Calendar and figure it out yourself. Also, the clocks are different to. When the clock says 4:30pm it is really what we would say is 10:30pm. It always amuses me to go to lunch at 12:30, and look up at the church’s clock tower and see it say 6:30. It makes me realize that I am very truly in another country.

 2007!!!!!!2007!

 

Also, the sweet potatoes here are disguised as ordinary potatoes! The sisters said they were sweet potatoes, but I thought they just called regular potatoes sweet potatoes so I was surprised when the regular looking potato, that was not orange, tasted sweet.

photo (39)On the way from the capital of Ethiopia to Dilla I past many houses that looked like the picture to the left. I also saw camels, but sadly no elephants in this part of Africa.

There were Dust Baby Tornado also many mini dust tornadoes, which you can also see in the picture below. There was one really close to us but I couldn’t turn on my phone camera fast enough.

I had my first English class today, there are about 30 students in it. I have 3 classes that I teach twice a week, I think……… I’ll have to check my schedule. But if there are as big as this one I should be seeing around 90 students a week……….The “I’m bad with names” saying has never been more true! Especially since all the names are hard for me to pronounce. I do remember one name though! But that is only because the guy raised his hand after class when I asked if there were any questions, and he said “Do you remember my name?”……. I still don’t remember his actual name, sad to say, but I remember he said people call him Mudd for short. Oh well, I’m here for 8 months so hopefully I’ll get it eventually…………. Well, bye for now!!! I’ll tell you about the amazing embroidery next time!

5 thoughts on “I time traveled! Hello 2007!

  1. Awesome, thanks for the blog post dearest Angela. It lets us peek into where you are and do. So, you are going to be sweet 16 on your next birthday?!!! Do everything with great love. Be sure of our love and prayer, In the Heart of Jesus, your sister Mary Gloria Mar, FMA

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good Mission… hopefully you will remember to call home at the right time! You might scare your parents in the middle of the night! God Bless you and keep you in His loving hands! Enjoy, time flies! Maria Carmen Castillon

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so happy Angela that people in Ethiopia get to meet you! What a treat for all of them. Have a wonderful time in all you do. Teach someone how to dance. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment